Project 52 – Week 46 – Temptation

photo

Bonnie

One lump or two?  I actually do not put sugar in my tea, but I am often tempted.

Shot with my Canon DSLR paired with my 35 mm 2.0 lens, with some morning natural light flowing in through the window.  My settings were ISO 400, shutter speed of 1/80 and my aperture at 2.0. The edit was done in lightroom where I applied a black and white rebelsauce preset. I also sharpened the photo a tad, and played with the contrast and the brightness.

I was thrilled to have this photo featured last week with Project Life 365.  It can be found on both their instagram feed and their Facebook page.

“To me, photography is an art of observation.  It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.”~Elliott Erwitt

wpid2122-IMG_6193.jpg

Alex

I’m not a huge fan of eating pomegranates, but Ella and Will love them.  I can definitely appreciate the beauty of the fruit though, the lush colour, and the symmetry of them when they’re cut in half.  It reminds me of folded butterfly paintings when the kids were little, or even an inkblot test, and it would be interesting to know what shapes and patterns other people see when they look at this picture.

I took this image in our front yard at around 11 in the morning, on the edge of the shade on a clear, bright day.  I paired my 50mm 1.4 lens with my Canon DSLR.  Due to the bright day, my ISO was set at 160, with a shutter speed of 1/80, and the aperture set at f/2.2 so that I could achieve a shallow depth of field yet not totally lose the detail of the pomegranate.  Post processing in Lightroom 4, I cropped the image, increased the clarity and contrast, and finally adjusted the saturation of the blues and purples in the image.

 

 

Leave a comment