Day 28 – Family

Alex

Apart from my husband and my 3 children, all our family lives back home in England.  The Hurley, Roberts, Huntriss, Terrey, and Thorpe families.  I so wish that we lived closer.  With the kids at school today, apart from Jack who came home sick, I thought about how best to approach the ‘family’ photo.  I have lots of images stored on my computer, still more in albums, but I also discovered that I have quite a lot of loose photographs too.  I have already posted up on this blog quite a few pictures of my family as it is now, but I thought it would be interesting to show images of our past too.  So I decided to make a collage of some of these ‘spare’ pictures.  One of my favorites is the strip of booth photographs which we took of a just about 1 year old Jack for his passport and visa to come to the USA almost 12 years ago.  As you can see it took a few attempts to get it right, and it still makes me smile.

It was pretty dark in the house when I took this picture at about 2 o’clock in the afternoon on my kitchen countertop.  So my ISO was set at 2000, my shutter speed at 1/40 and my aperture was f/4 so ensure as much of the picture as possible would be in focus.

Post processing in Lightroom 4 was minimal.  I increased contrast, clarity, and sharpening, and also decreased the highlights.

Bonnie

No.  These are not mug shots.  But instead, my version of a  ‘Brady Bunch’ photo!  Come on, I can’t be the only one out there who has been dying to do this, right?  Well, here we are.  Our extended family is spread out, but this is my little ‘Malone Bunch’ !

I took the photos in our basement.  All white walls and very bright with artificial lighting.  I shot in them all in Instagram.  Then I sliced and diced in Diptic to make the collage.   John and I tried to do our best ‘Carol’ and ‘Mike Brady’ faces.  Hmm??  Ok, well we tried! 😉

One thought on “Day 28 – Family

Leave a comment